25 Virtues Found in the Best of Men

What are some of the best qualities we find in men? Chuck Chapman has a list.

The Good Men Project
Modern Identities

--

Photo credit: iStockPhoto.com

By Chuck Chapman

Marcus Aurelius wrote, “Waste no more time arguing about what a good man should be. Be one.”

I particularly like this quote, because as the new year has started, I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to be a good man, specifically about being a man of good character. I know that I haven’t always been a good man. I’ve done some pretty shitty things in my life, but at the same time I am grateful for my experiences and struggles because they have forged and changed my character for the better.

As a result, I’ve learned there are a lot of things I can’t change. I can’t change my eye-color, my height, and I certainly cannot change my past. Yet, I believe anyone can change their character … it’s not easy, but it is possible. For me, the first step was defining my values. I noticed that when I lived in accordance with my values I developed virtues. I found that with practice and dedication to living within these virtues, I am becoming a good man.

Character is reflected in our behaviors, and often our behaviors are influenced by our beliefs. By defining our virtues, we solidify our beliefs about our values. Once defined, we have a…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Modern Identities

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com