4 Promises from a Christian Pastor Dad if His Children Turn Out To Be Gay

A father of two and Christian Pastor has thought long and hard about the possibility a child of his might be gay. Here are his four promises if that happens.

The Good Men Project
Modern Identities

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

By John Pavlovitz

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll have gay children. I’m not sure if other parents think about this but, quite often, I do.

Maybe it’s because I have many gay people in my family and circle of friends. It’s in my genes and in my tribe. Maybe it’s because, as a pastor of students, I’ve seen and heard the horror stories of gay Christian kids, from both inside and outside of the closet, trying to be part of the Church. Maybe it’s because, as a Christian, I interact with so many people who find homosexuality to be the most repulsive thing imaginable, and who make that abundantly clear at every conceivable opportunity.

For whatever reason, it’s something that I ponder frequently. As a pastor and a parent, I wanted to make some promises to you, and to my two kids right now…

1) If I have gay children, you’ll all know it.

My children won’t be our family’s best-kept secret. I won’t talk around them in conversations with others. I…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Modern Identities

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com