Am I Any Less of a Man Because I’m Autistic?

I know I’m not, but it doesn’t always feel that way.

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By J.R. Reed

Recently I once again found myself questioning whether or not I was less of a man due to my autism. The reason for getting down on myself are many and varied, so it had to be something big, deep and complicated that led to this latest bout, right?

No, the thing that most recently has me questioning whether or not I’m less of a man because I’m autistic is due to dating, something I swore off months ago, yet once again I recently found myself online looking for someone to date.

What a stupid decision that was.

This go around was pretty easy, all I had to do was send out some messages and wait for them to not be responded to. That’s right. In three weeks of poking around online, not one person bothered to get back with me.

That’s one thing I never got about online dating. If someone takes the time to send you as message are you too good to take a moment to send something back saying no thanks and good luck? It’ll take you twenty seconds max and will let the other person know that indeed, you are a decent human being.

In the past, on the rare occasions where I did get some response, we would chat a…

--

--

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

A collaborative effort between “agents of change,” Good Men Media, Inc. and Connection Victory Publishing Company. AgentsOfChange@ConnectionVictory.com