Cis With a Genderqueer Spouse

5 best and worst things about having a genderqueer partner.

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

--

Photo credit: Htcole on Pixabay

By Sandy Roffey

It’s not always easy being the wife of a genderqueer spouse. I mean, I know my privilege — I don’t have to worry about how I’m going to present today, or if I’ll have to come out for the 8th time this week. If I wear nail polish, no one will ask me about it. If I go to the bathroom, I don’t have to agonize over which one. And I love my spouse, and value how lucky I am to be with someone who is gorgeous whether dressed masculine or femme.

But there are some things to get used to, especially at the beginning, and certainly when you’re adjusting to a new version of your old love.

THE 5 WORST THINGS

1. They dress better than you do. They have two wardrobes, while you’re using a ribbon to hold up your pants. My spouse has excellent taste in clothing, and since we don’t have a huge budget for extra clothes, they focus on just a few elegant pieces that go on sale. This results in them sitting in the living room in Calvin Klein while I rock my food-stained tank top and pill-covered cardigan.

2. The Other Woman Sure, they’re dressed femme, sometimes, but that’s not what I’m talking about. Before my spouse told me they were genderqueer, I kept finding women’s…

--

--

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

A collaborative effort between “agents of change,” Good Men Media, Inc. and Connection Victory Publishing Company. AgentsOfChange@ConnectionVictory.com