Examples of Core Beliefs and How To Change Yours

What do you strongly believe in?

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Sean Clarke

Core beliefs are the assumptions we make about ourselves, others, or situations we come into contact with. What do you strongly believe in? that you’re not good enough? that you’re better than others? is it religion? Core Beliefs are the very things that we strongly believe within ourselves. They are based around our values and determine how we take in information, and generally see the world around us. Core beliefs are also the things that cause us to argue as human beings because we all have varying beliefs on different subjects. When it comes to mental health, it’s easy for us to get sucked into certain beliefs and thought patterns that end up stopping us from seeing other perspectives.

For me personally, I had to make a shift in my deep set core beliefs before I could truly start to get better. For example, I used to believe;

  • I’ll never get better, I’ve been anxious for too long
  • I’ll never stop worrying
  • I’m not a confident person
  • I can’t perform like other people can
  • I’ll be anxious for the rest of my life

These are the core beliefs that I had about myself for most of my life. You might…

--

--

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

A collaborative effort between “agents of change,” Good Men Media, Inc. and Connection Victory Publishing Company. AgentsOfChange@ConnectionVictory.com