I Used To Be Busy, Now I’m Happy

I stopped wearing busy like a badge of honor, and I’m never going back.

Maria Chapman
Modern Identities

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

“How are you?” my coworker asks, walking into the basement closet that serves as an office for a meeting.

“Oh, ugh,” I look up from my computer, “I’m so busy.”

“Me too,” she launches into an explanation of all the ways her time is soaked up.

I respond with more of the same.

Working endless hours at a job I don’t like.

Sporting events that drain our finances and that my kids are lukewarm about.

PTA meetings when I’d rather just cut them a check.

Writing lesson plans the principal collects and never looks at.

Cooking homemade meals six days a week because I feel like I should.

Packing bento-box lunches with cucumbers cut into stars because I want the teachers to marvel at my extraordinary mothering abilities.

Birthday parties full of streamers and screaming children.

Dinners with extended family.

Planning the perfect vacation.

Doctor’s appointments, volunteering in my kids’ classrooms, haircuts, grocery shopping.

--

--

Maria Chapman
Modern Identities

Maria Chapman is the CEO of Connected Ghostwriting, LLC. She writes about mental health, social justice, relationships, and business leadership.