I’m a Perfectly Normal Woman. I Just Wasn’t Born This Way.

Maybe I’m not non-binary myself, and maybe I don’t identify as trans*, but I’ve dealt a lot with the issues around this stuff, and I know I can help.

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Jane Sofia Struthers

I’ve struggled lately with my column on the GMP.

Why? Well, I’m not a man. I’m not non-binary. I’m a binary, female woman — or, in society’s eyes, a perfectly “normal” girl.

Okay, maybe not 100% “normal”. When I said I was female… I am. I just wasn’t born this way.

So I’ve been in trans* groups, as a transsexual. Especially when I was tormented by my male genitalia. I met some non-binary people that way and learned a lot about gender and sex. In most people, like me, these are tightly linked. However, in some other people, they aren’t.

I started out as a columnist on the GMP because I really like their vision. (Society’s perception of masculinity is what I hated most about being perceived as a man.) I saw a group of people trying to help men express other sides of themselves, without fear, guilt, or shame. Especially when I, myself, had the wrong body parts, I glommed onto their need to separate gender and physicality.

--

--

Agents of Change
Modern Identities

A collaborative effort between “agents of change,” Good Men Media, Inc. and Connection Victory Publishing Company. AgentsOfChange@ConnectionVictory.com