My Fear About Speaking English As An Immigrant

5 tips to help you based on my own mistakes.

Giovana Duailibe
Modern Identities

--

photo: Fabio Fistarol
Photo: Fabio Fistarol

I remember as a kid listening to my dad’s tapes, being crazy about the New Kids on The Block, and as I was growing, dreaming about speaking English like it was my first language. Watching MTV and listening to POP songs was something that just brings me to a whole new dimension.

In the real world, I was struggling with my English classes where year after year we were studying grammar and trying to memorize a bunch of verbs.

It was when I moved to New York in 2013 that I had to face for real the craziness and beauty about it. But it was different because even if in my head I was ready to take over the world and achieve my goal, I was there as an immigrant trying to survive in the city that never sleeps.

We were never illegal, my husband was working as a photographer for a big company, the kids enrolled in school, and because of our visa, I had to become a full-time SHM (stay at home mom). For me, it was the perfect opportunity to study and take care of my family.

But being an immigrant in the United States is not an easy task sometimes. I remember once when I went to the local library and the lady at the front desk told me that I couldn’t have a library card because I was not American. Or…

--

--

Giovana Duailibe
Modern Identities

Mom of two, an immigrant, born in Brazil, living now in Italy after 5 years in NY. I write about business, mindset, real adventures and whatever comes to mind.