Tips and Tricks to Start Your Natural Hair Journey!

Kalila Farrakhan
MOKA Digest
Published in
3 min readNov 2, 2020

Do you miss your curls? Are you tired of your scalp burning every time you get your hair done? Is your hair breaking off? It’s time to go natural, sis.

I asked myself these same questions in 2015 when I decided to go natural. My once-long hair broke off into a bob, and I wanted to join the natural hair movement that I saw many of my friends join. I wanted my hair to have the curls and volume that I saw many of my natural-haired sisters have. Through Youtube videos and trial and error, I transitioned from fully relaxed hair to mid-back length natural hair. I know starting your natural hair journey is scary, but I did it, and with these tips and tricks, you can too!

Make Sure you can Commit.

Going natural is expensive and time-consuming, but it’s worth it. Natural hair products cost around $12 each, but it does depend on which brands you use. Also, learning your new hair texture requires research, patience, and time. At the end of the day, you’ll be happy you started! I have never heard of a natural woman that regretted her hair journey.

Purchase a few Starter Products.

A wide-tooth comb, shampoo + conditioner for natural hair, and hair moisturizers like a leave-in conditioner and oil are the key products to get you started on this journey. Deep conditioners and curling creams are also valuable additions.

Invest in Quality Products.

You don’t have to spend $30 on one product, but make sure you do your research on products to ensure that they don’t have any harmful chemicals in them. Ingredients, such as alcohol and sulfates, can do your hair and body more harm than good. Some hair products can damage your curl pattern or dry out your hair to the point of breakage. Reading the components of products goes a long way.

Be Patient.

Hair growth takes a long time, so make sure to be patient with your hair and yourself. I felt discouraged at the beginning because my hair took a long time to develop a curl pattern, but I stuck through it and reaped the results. There will be some hard times along the journey but remember why you started and your end goal. The image of your head full of curls will keep you going!

Stop Using Heat.

I know this is a hard one, y’all! Even though it’s hard to reduce/stop using heat, it is essential for your hair’s health and growth. Finding hairstyles that use little to no heat helps you retain length, strengthen your hair, and support your emerging curl pattern. Protective hairstyles like buns, braids, and mini twists have been my favorites.

Watch Youtube Videos.

This tip was one of the essential parts of my hair journey. Watching Youtube videos about transitioning helped me learn how to take care of my hair and understand the process’s do’s and don’ts. Nowadays, there are so many videos on Youtube to help you on your journey; you could get started today!

Below, I have linked a few Youtube videos to get you started!

BEST Tips for Transitioning to Natural Hair

Transitioning to Healthy Natural Hair: Advice & Tips

The Ultimate Detailed Guide For Transitioning to Natural Hair 4C

I know this seems like a lot, but it becomes effortless with time. Just know that you are not alone, and many of your sisters are beginning this journey right along with you. Whether you decide to do a big chop or transition entirely, commitment and patience will ensure your success. With these tips and tricks, I am sure that your hair journey will be phenomenal. The glow-up will be real, sis!

--

--

Kalila Farrakhan
MOKA Digest

Kalila Farrakhan is a sophomore Psychology major on the Pre-Law Track from Baltimore, Maryland at Spelman College. Interesting Fact: She is a vegetarian!