The River of Life

SFM
Mom-Mom’s Chronicles: A Journey Through Time
1 min readJun 13, 2024

More undated musings from my grandmother’s writings.

Photo by Martin Sanchez on Unsplash

The river of life flows swiftly on to the ocean wide

The wind blows fierce and wild in the night,

My fears for you caught me in a whirlwind of tide

Around and round in my brain they took their wearisome flight

Then all at once I heard a voice so soft and sweet

Calling to me from the darkness deep as a fountain

Fear not, have faith, o child, all fears intreat

Then I felt all pure and clean as tall as a high clear mountain.

**This poem really spoke to me, and surprised me once again with the depth of feeling inside my grandmother. She had many things to worry about over the years, and I have a feeling her worries in this poem might have referred to my father, who was an alcoholic. I also did not know her faith in God was so strong — all I knew was that she attended church every Sunday, without fail. Once again, feelings, faith, and all of that were never discussed. Once again, I’m so glad she put these feelings down on paper.

--

--

SFM
Mom-Mom’s Chronicles: A Journey Through Time

Writer, editor, proofreader for 20 years, venturing into the world of blogging for the first time.