Wednesday, January 1, 1958

SFM
Mom-Mom’s Chronicles: A Journey Through Time
1 min readJun 17, 2024

My grandmother’s first diary entry.

Not so cold. T. had an accident and dented his car. Not too bad. He feels awful about it. D & M returned from E. Had stuffed spare ribs for dinner.

We went over home at night. May we have a good year. God, be with us always.

  • *Just a few notes — throughout this diary I won’t use real names of people or places. Although most of the people mentioned in the diary are now deceased, I’d prefer that they, like my grandmother, remain anonymous.
  • I will tell you that T. was her second-oldest son, who in 1958 would have been 23.
  • D & M were my parents, who would marry later in 1958.
  • E. refers to a city about a hour from my grandparents’ farm.
  • “Over home” meant to my grandmother’s parents’ home, which was about 20 minutes from their farm.
  • This is a short entry, I know, as some of them were. Some days she recorded the weather, what she ate, etc. and not a lot else. It still makes for interesting reading.

--

--

SFM
Mom-Mom’s Chronicles: A Journey Through Time

Writer, editor, proofreader for 20 years, venturing into the world of blogging for the first time.