Teacher, you are loved.

Rachel B. Baxter
momento→us
Published in
Jan 26, 2021

--

by Rachel B. Baxter, art by Ernio
[image: a child’s unicorn backpack] One day, my daughter came home from school and said we needed to make her teacher a gift.
One day, my daughter came home from school and said we needed to make her teacher a gift.
She insisted we make her a “floofycorn,” a cute little puffy creature made out of [images:] yarn, pipecleaners & googly eyes.
She insisted we make her a “floofycorn,” a cute little puffy creature made out of yarn, pipecleaners, and googly eyes.
Together, we crafted the floofycorn. [image: floofycorn]
Together, we crafted the floofycorn.
Next, she requested a gift bag & card,  tucked floofycorn in the bag & wrote her & teacher’s name complete w/ drawing of them
Next, she requested a gift bag and a card. She tucked the floofycorn in the gift bag and wrote her name and her teacher’s name on the card, complete with a drawing of the two of them together.
“Is there a special occasion?” I asked her. “Like, is it her birthday?”
“Is there a special occasion?” I asked her. “Like, is it her birthday?”
“No,” she said, “It’s just because I love her.”
“No,” she said, “It’s just because I love her.”

--

--

Rachel B. Baxter
momento→us

A few good stories, a thousand different versions. My dreams are written in form. Author of Mother Scorpion. http://rbbaxter.com