The Origin of Prophecies

Carissa Andrews
Moments of Being
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2016

Today I’ve been thinking about the origin of prophecies. It’s a recreational hazard of being an author, I think.

With Polarities (Book 2 of my Pendomus Chronicles), I’m setting into motion pieces of a prophecy which has yet to be fully revealed. But it’s fun to consider the implications it will have on my crew of miscreants before they even are aware of it.

With all of this setup, it got me thinking about the allure of knowing something before it comes to pass. I think we have all wished, at one time or another, that we could see into the future. Perhaps to know that everything turns out okay in the end. Perhaps to simply get a glimpse enough for small, everyday things like, “When will our house sell?” or “Will we ever have kids?”

Prophecies have been around since the dawn of time. Literally every culture has them.

From a psychological standpoint, it’s been thought prophecies are nothing more than a special ability to see patterns quickly and calling out the next move. Perhaps prophets are autistic?

From a quantum physics aspect, it could even be a merger between varying multiverses. No one really knows.

In regards to Pendomus, and my main character Runa’s prophecy, I love the idea of duality. Where it can be open to interpretation. Maybe it’s the sadist in me, but I also love sleight of hand. Leading my audience down one path, only to uncover something completely different, but made of the same stuff. Where you have that big, “Doh!” moment and despise me for purposely leading you astray.

Playing with perceptions is a joy. Knowing different people see things differently is so critical for all of us to understand, yet most of us don’t embrace the fact. It’s something that’s so ingrained in me, I don’t think I could ever write a novel without some sort of perception twist.

Which brings me back to prophecies… wouldn’t it be interesting if they’re nothing more than a sleight of hand? If that’s all they’ve always been? Like there was a big prophet convention at the dawn of time where they made up the rules…

Maybe they were crafted as a means to be the kick in the pants humans have always needed to make big moves. The ability to actively change a world view and makes us think bigger somehow.

Could they simply be meant to guide us deliberately to embrace a destiny we may not have chosen otherwise? Or perhaps we would have chosen, but needed the push to get off our Candy Crush butts to do something real?

Ponderments…

If you liked this post, please click the little heart and share the love. ❤

You can learn more about Carissa on her website at: www.carissaandrews.com

Carissa Andrews is a Multipassionate MN Entrepreneur, Sci-fi Author, freelance writer, graphic designer and artist, unapologetic progressive, Lightworker, truthsayer, & occasional badass. Her YA science fiction novel Pendomus, is available now through Amazon. Though she’s often a headless chicken, occasionally, she has openings for freelance gigs. It never hurts to ask.

--

--

Carissa Andrews
Moments of Being

International Bestselling Author | CEO of Author Revolution | Host of the Author Revolution Podcast | Millionaire Author Coach