Fasl e Gham

Maria Ajmal
Moments of Clarity
Published in
1 min readSep 19, 2021
Image by Author

Waise zaraye laakh thay

Dil ko dukhaanay kay magr

Mainy chuna wo shauq se

Marham na jiska tha koi

Ik umr bhar ki khoj thi

Har bashr se thokar liye

Muntazir jis gham ka main

Qaabil tha jiskay, wo hai yehi

Mohtaaj jal na aaftaab ki

Phootay jo bharkay aag si

Meri ruh ki jo ghiza karay

Wo fasl mainy hai boyee

Jhinjhor de jo khumaar se

Is dard ki shiddat hai wo

Phoonk de nai zindagi

Wo na hai koi, wo tou hai Tu hi.

Translation:

There were numerous ways,

To seek what the aching heart desired,

But I willingly chose the one,

That would keep it in pain forever.

I looked and looked all my life,

In all the people who rejected me,

I finally found the pain that I was aching to embrace,

I finally found the pain that I had been made capable to endure.

The self-sufficient harvest that is oblivious to sun and water,

The harvest that grows like fire spreads in a jungle,

I have sown that harvest to feed my soul.

This is an excruciating pain,

That jolts you from your deep sleep of unconsciousness,

After which new life is blown into the soul,

By none other than HIM.

--

--