A Sojourn In Japan

Chapter 1: Touchdown At Kansai Airport

Anis Aslaam
Moments
4 min readDec 27, 2020

--

On April 1st 2019, I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to go and work in Japan. Over the course of 18 months, I was fortunate enough to have seen and done enough things to experience a lot of unique and new things that definitely did broaden my views and horizons.

Now that I’ve returned to Malaysia, its time for me to share every bit of detail about how was my time in Japan like. Trust me, I really didn’t want to leave The Land of The Rising Sun but even though I had to, I left with millions of memories pocketed in my mind and heart.

Let’s begin with Chapter 1. On April 1st 2019, I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to go and work in Japan. Over the course of 18 months, I was fortunate enough to have seen and done enough things to experience a lot of unique and new things that definitely did broaden my views and horizons.

Now that I’ve returned to Malaysia, its time for me to share every bit of detail about how was my time in Japan like. Trust me, I really didn’t want to leave The Land of The Rising Sun but even though I had to, I left with millions of memories pocketed in my mind and heart.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page” — Augustine of Hippo

It was around 9:30 pm when I said my final farewell to my family. It was scary and immensely challenging to leave your own turf for a place whose customs and language are heavily foreign to you.

Me and my parents prior to my departure to Japan

Yet, I did just that and I turned my back to Malaysia, said my prayers and hoped for the best for my departure to Japan. My companion, Hairizam turned up soon after and we boarded the 11:30 pm flight to Kansai International Airport, Osaka.

7:00 am, March 31, 2020. The flight landed at the Kansai International Airport with cloudy skies surrounding it. i got out of the flight, fully feasting myself with the sight of this new, alien landscape. After completing the mandatory checks at the immigration counter, we stepped out to head to the main lobby. As soon as I went out, I was greeted by one of the most coldest winds I’ve ever experienced in my life. The last vestiges of winter was yet to go and it certainly wasn’t mild like the cold winds of Cameron Highlands.

A cold morning greeting

Entering the airport’s lobby, I was mesmerised by the sparkling cleanliness of the floor. A slightly tall clock pole certainly added a bit of class to it. I ventured further outside and saw trees withering due to winter’s freeze but it will soon resurrect itself with Sakura flowers coated alongside its long, twirling branches.

A clock adorning the main lobby of the Kansai International Airport

A few other things also did not escape my attention. An ice cream vending machine was present. Being a Malaysian from a little hamlet called Ipoh, I have never seen such a marvel before in my life. Not only that, there were many other kinds of vending machines too. Some ejected cigarettes while another one ejected alcohol. A sudden call of nature sent me running to the loo where I witnessed another new marvel. An automated toilet. I couldn’t resist the opportunity to snap a photo of it.

Soon, me and Hairizam went to the ticket counter to purchase tickets leading us to our destination: Kyoto. To mark the surreal moment of my arrival in Japan, the words of “Welcome to Kansai” were splashed in front of me in big letters.

Kansai beckons

A reminder that I’m well and truly out of my comfort zone but equally the entrance sign to a new, exciting future.

--

--