Dating With Impossible Standards

When We Set Our Standards Too High — So We Don’t Risk Getting Hurt

Joe Duncan
Moments
Published in
6 min readMay 29, 2019

--

This subject is one that I think we all experience but nobody ever really talks about, maybe besides the extremely rare conversation behind closed doors…I also feel like this needs to be discussed because sometimes we can’t see past a problem from within it, so I look back upon the problems I faced back when I dated with a different perspective than someone might have when they’re actually dating, and everything feels so fatalistic, deterministic, and entrapping.

If you came here for a how-to guide on dating with high standards and succeeding with those high standards in place, I’m sorry to disappoint, but that’s not the purpose of this story. Sometimes we set our standards way too high, we isolate certain traits in our dream partner so that, in a very real way, everyone else will automatically “not be good enough,” for us. Raise your hand if this has ever been you. Something tells me that I’m speaking about one of those universal things that’s built-in to the human experience…

I used to dream up all sorts of unusual figments of my imagination, these intangible imaginary people that I would consider worthy of my time, often referencing popular societal standards to make any potential dating partners that I would come into…

--

--

Joe Duncan
Moments

I’ve worked in politics for fourteen years and counting. Editor for Sexography: Medium.com/Sexography | The Science of Sex: http://thescienceofsex.substack.com