Dear Dream Body

An overdue goodbye letter.

Cesca Nichol
Moments
2 min readOct 30, 2020

--

Photo by Joe deSousa on Unsplash

Dear Dream Body,

I am writing this letter to let you know that I am letting you go.

I have finally accepted you are not the coveted prize society and my insecurities led me to believe you are.

You are a siren offering false hope and safety to voyagers navigating the rough seas of life.

You lead to the destruction of souls.

I have repeatedly returned to you, lured by your song, hoping that each time would be different. That if I changed enough or was good enough or worked hard enough then I would get you. I would be worthy of you.

I have come to realise I am worthy of so much more.

The truth is deep down it was never about you. I wanted what I thought I would get if I existed in you. That if I had you I would also have confidence.

I would love myself.

I would be wanted by men.

I would be aspirational to women.

I would be more “successful” in life.

Those are all lies, lines from your song.

There is no confidence or self love that comes from the outside in.

There is no man I would value that would not want me for my compassion, my mind and my character first.

I do not desire to inspire, impress or influence anyone because of my shell.

If I inspire let it be with my depth, if I impress let it be with my vulnerability, my honesty and if I influence let it be with my heart.

Any seeming success that is denied on account of my body is incompatible with my definition of success anyways.

So, Dream Body, I am breaking up with you.

I do not need you. I do not want you. Honestly, I never really did.

With a sigh of relief,

Goodbye.

--

--

Cesca Nichol
Moments

Truthful writer about love, life, relationships, trauma, mental health and getting through each day as it comes. Also a big fan of dogs.