Mother’s Day Is A Bit Weird

It’s coming up for Mother’s Day here in the UK and since becoming a mum I feel more awkward about it than ever.

Amanda Jayne O'Hare
Moments
2 min readMar 16, 2020

--

Photo by Amy Shamblen on Unsplash

Hallmark holidays; they’ve rarely been my friend.

Almost always single on Valentine’s Day, which was usually on purpose.

My dad passed away right around Father’s Day when I was 15 years old. It was probably one of his final dark-humored jokes.

Well, no, his final jokes were probably being late for the funeral and the dodgy organist; or the telemarketer who phoned up asking for Peter and when mum replied “sorry, he passed away”, they replied, “oh, I’m sorry, should I take him off the list then?” — Nah mate, I’m sure he still loves reading.

My mum followed suit when I was 28, losing her was rough, she was definitely where I acquired my wonderfully weird side, it’s her birthday rather than deathday, that clashes with UK Mother’s Day.

You’d think becoming a mother would give the day back a bit of nicety, but as a single mum, who’s remaining family aren’t around, I’d have to celebrate it myself and it just feels awkward. No, actually, it’s being asked about how I celebrate the day, that’s the awkward bit.

So, maybe I should and go all out? What do you think? New traditions maybe?

I should probably go with it and fill the flat with tack and dyed flowers; and then sit in a bath of cake with a glass of wine because, y’no, mum life, apparently.

I love being a mum. Having my daughter is hands down my favorite life achievement and mummy is my favorite title for sure.

No one is funnier or kinder than my little womb fruit.

I actually love crashing other people’s celebrations of days like Mother’s Day. I love to see the gushy affection that people share on their profiles on special days. Voyeuristically soaking up good feels, enjoying other people’s happiness.

Just not mine. Am I like the person that hates Christmas or Birthdays?

I just don’t want to made to feel awkward that this year I probably won’t get a shit mug.

I feel for anyone that feels pain around these days though. Mother’s Day is weird.

This Mother’s Day I think I’ll paint a pot with my little girl. I’ll paint the pot; and she will probably paint me, her and the walls.

But that’s what it’s all about, cleaning sharpie out of the carpets.

Amanda Jayne O’Hare

Amanda Jayne is single mummy to Ruby, aged 2, Personal Trainer and Nutrition Advisor of over a decade; and a C-PTSD warrior passionate about sharing all she’s learned about personal growth, self-development, fitness hacks, and her own healing and wellbeing journey.

--

--

Amanda Jayne O'Hare
Moments

Personal Growth, Grief and Trauma; Health, Fitness and Relationships | hello@amandajaynethrives.com | Exploring life's vast depths and epic peaks.