The Beauty of Impermanence

Karen Tang
Moments
Published in
Feb 10, 2021

I’ve learned the hard way that
All things I hold dearly
Will all slip away
From me
Until they become strangers.
A distant fragmented memory
Within this chaotic buzzing head of mine.

To the ones
That I once loved,
I apologize for holding onto you
For dear life
Because at the time that was
All I knew.

If something made me happy
I wanted it to last forever
But life is a funny thing
And happiness is only a collection
Of fleeting moments
Of pure ecstasy.

I apologize for
Clinging onto your brittle bones
And believing that the departure
Of you
Would suck all the life
Radiating inside of me.

I’ve realized that
I too
Can make myself happy
Even when you’re no longer around.

--

--

Karen Tang
Moments
Writer for

Karen Tang is a writer and poet from Vancouver, B.C. She writes about all things on love and heartbreak. Connect with me: https://www.instagram.com/kkmpoetry/