The 5-Minute Timer We All Have to Live

We All Have a 5-Minute Timer, Each Time We Breathe, We Reset It

Marcus Chan
Moments

--

I am but a human, who lived on a planet, at a certain point in time.
Not long from now, memories of me will be faded.

None of my actions will matter.
And I don’t matter.

Life will flourish as it always did.
If there’s enough time, the survival rate for everyone drops to 0.

So why does it matter?
Why do we do what we do?

To get to a higher place?
To become better?
To feel better?

Fear the future,
Hold on to the past,
Never living in the moment.

We want to live life to the fullest, but that’s so hard.
What if I were to die tomorrow?
I mean, the good ol’ days were always better right?

Fear. The four-letter that holds so much power.
It’s a force so strong it can cause chaos.

But there is also love.
Another force so strong that it could mend the universe.

--

--

Marcus Chan
Moments

Writer by title, storyteller at heart. Writing about life, money, and work. Newsletter: https://marcuschan.substack.com/ Ebook: https://bit.ly/3PgV5HH