When America is a Hammer Everything is a Nail

Binder
Moments
Published in
9 min readMay 10, 2020

Civil Liberties? A Canadian/Indian/American perspective

Photo by me: Please don’t tread on me. A nod to Marley K. for teaching me something new.

The recent protests in Michigan triggered me in a way that left me feeling a little queasy. Gretchen Whitmer, ‘that woman from Michigan’ who is so unworthy of being acknowledged as a human being with rights, or an identity, recently had the pleasure of the company of some armed protesters. These protestors came to pay their respects at her place of business, the state capital, wanting to liberate the state from her acts of tyranny.

‘These are very good people, but they are angry, they want their lives back again, safely! See them, talk to them, make a deal.” — Donald Trump (that man who sits in the Oval Office)

I’m fully aware of the Second Amendment and well versed in the rampant misogyny, increase in hate crimes and racism that is dominating the American landscape. Let's put this into perspective though. In an ideal scenario, public servants choose to uphold an ethical set of morals and represent their constituents equally, regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, or political affiliation. That’s kind of our baseline expectation in America is it not? Do unto others? Both Republicans and Democrats can be accused of having personal agendas and lining their pockets at the expense of their people and future generations. General corruption and self-serving stupidity seem the order of the day right now. However, Michigan’s stay at home order didn’t seem so far-fetched given the COVID pandemic. Things like financial solvency, long term financial hardships, racial disparities in healthcare, and daily death count should be considered before making decisions on behalf of constituents.

There is no playbook for COVID or this moment. Even the best of minds and intentions might get public policy wrong. Whether we get it right or wrong, it is only with the gift of hindsight, we see it. There is a fine balance between individual rights and the civil liberties of the greater good. Were these armed protesters really trying to ‘liberate’ Michigan from an evil, feminist Nazi-like dictator who would forever use her infinite power to beat down the struggling masses? Cut the bullshit. This really IS starting to feel like Weimar Germany but not because of people like Governor Whitmer.

The thing that triggered me the most wasn’t the protest. Freedom of speech and association is why I can write this article without fear of retribution or unceasing harassment (insert infinite sarcasm). The ‘armed protest’ and the subsequent quote from our sitting president sent a shiver down my spine and reminded me of every racist, misogynistic encounter I’ve ever had with white men and men in general who try and intimidate women. Let me tell you; my experience is extensive. Here’s some backstory for context:

I’ve lived in Oregon on and off since 1998 and am well aware of the entrenched undercurrent of racist policing, the resurgence of hate crimes, the growing influence of alt right-wing groups, and the subversive quality of their nature. White supremacy goes underground these days because telling me to my face that you don't value my rights, my life, or those of my children would just be bad form and uncouth. Hiding your racism is so much classier when you think people are too stupid to smell it on you. People of color have a gift for that in case you were wondering. It's a survival skill. We’re used to being gaslit and scapegoated, so the scent of platitudes and false promises is particularly repugnant.

I live in an upper-middle-class neighborhood and while I have a few select good friends and some excellent (truly lucky to have you, go out for a beer, trust you with my children) neighbors, I don't really like my neighborhood at all. (Yes, I’ve been trying desperately to move since August and am not one to whine while sitting on my laurels, but with COVID it’s rather difficult.) We chose it purely for the schools, which are exceptional. I’ve had a few run-ins with the local sheriff because, as suburban communities of America often are, mine is repressed, lonely, and undergoing growing pains. It was previously predominately white and has recently had a large influx of white-collar foreign immigrants. The community is having a lot of emotional, racial, and growing pains as a result. It’s not a pleasant environment to be around.

A few years back The Atlantic published an article about Portland, calling it the ‘whitest city in America’. It’s an interesting read and while I’ve experienced both the good and the bad of Portland, it rings true for me. I’m not sure if it’s being born in Canada that makes me feel like an outsider in my own country or something that inherently alienates me here. I suspect it’s the latter but I’m trying to be fair and keep an open mind.

Because of my experiences and the changes, I see across America I’m very wary. As a result, I have a general distrust of my community and my local law enforcement. This has been reinforced by a ‘lockdown’ at my daughter’s middle school which left some children traumatized and the recent battles of Alt right-wing groups and Antifa in Oregon, which leave me rather uneasy. Odd things like confederate flags popping up all over the state and even on the I-5 to Canada mark my memory. It’s not something I can ever recall seeing in the past. I don't feel that this country will do right by me. I wonder if all of this infringes on my civil liberties, those of my children, my friends, and my husband? I wonder if the supposed blind faith I’m encouraged to have in my elected officials is utterly misplaced. I strongly suspect that it is. When does my country liberate me from misogyny and racism?

I’ve never been arrested, always tithed my income to give to charity, not for religious reasons, just out of principle and habit from my parents. I’m pretty straight-laced and have no addictive tendencies except for social justice. I’ve known racism and misogyny all my life. I’ve experienced a lot more of it in the last few years in Oregon which is surprising given it self-identifies as a ‘progressive’ state. Racism and misogyny are intricately linked and often perpetuated by outwardly ‘progressive’ men. The most unnerving, and almost hilarious display of stupidity are white men who clearly have never had any type of friendship or relationship with a woman of color trying to awkwardly either flirt, neg, gaslight, or just stare at my rack.

Harassment comes in many forms; I’m intimate with both racial and sexual. Misogyny and racism come from men from all walks of life and ethnicities. It is often perpetuated by the women in their lives as well. The pairing of the two together is particularly uncomfortable. From construction workers in my area, to a few really creepy (non-white) neighbors, it leaves me feeling uncomfortable in my home and is an extremely unpleasant experience. Men that seek out that kind of power create an environment not conducive to true freedom, social contracts, or the upholding of anyone’s civil liberties. They seek to leverage and to be empowered because as a general rule they have no power themselves. Hate is an exhausting emotion and you have to bend your will to an ugly place to live there, scheme, and create that kind of energy. In my experience, people like this represent the worst of humanity. They are fraught with insecurity, selfishness, small-minded jealousy, and a bitter self-loathing that has a pungent odor. If you see a rat, say it’s a rat.

I’m old enough not to care a lick what anyone thinks of me, particularly my looks. I don't have to justify my existence, my opinion, or my rights because I have a vagina or I’m brown. But very often over the last several years the unwanted, unasked for the attention of some people I made no effort to communicate with whatsoever, steals my peace of mind. Those actions do not liberate, they subjugate. I seldom feel comfortable in my home or by the pool with my daughter and her friends. It is a form of intimidation from those “very good people” who I don’t want my children around. It is the blatant theft of my freedom and civil liberties. All my life. Where you bear arms and protest, women like me grin and bear and learn never to ask for help because none will be forthcoming.

So, If I know what it feels like to feel violated by a man staring at a twelve-year-old girl’s ass at a pool. I can’t imagine how it feels to be voted into a position of power and then be thrown under the bus. The majority of people entrust elected officials with the futures of their children while vocal minorities try to intimidate them. I have a pretty hard outer shell but would find that scenario a heartbreaking or at the very least demoralizing. Governor Gretchen Whitmer, a woman from Michigan who has a name that I know and recognize, I emphasize with your position. To rise above, with class and dignity without resorting to the lowest common denominator is a feat I have yet to achieve, so I applaud you.

Men the world over do some things well. Like blending violence, sexuality, women, and children in power plays to get desired results. It’s a unique gift and the recipients are OFTEN the impoverished, women of color, and their families. A rape is reported every 6.2 minutes in America and when violence is no longer an option, intimidation, and the theft of women’s rights is the next step. Put that crazy bitch in her place is still the order of the day from the local level to the global. That’s true leadership for you.

‘Resistance is not only about battling the forces of darkness. It is about the becoming a complete human being. It is about overcoming the estrangement. It is about our neighbor. It is about honoring the sacred. It is about dignity. It is about sacrifice. It is about courage. It is about freedom. It is about the capacity to love. Resistance must become our vocation.’ — Chris Hedges, America the Farewell Tour

What kind of people continue to put themselves above others with over 30 million unemployed and a death toll that currently sits at 70,000 in approximately two months? America is still playing partisan politics with people lives, thinking about disbanding the task force because why would we make decisions with experience, raw data, or science? Sweet Jesus is always on your side -no PPE or vaccines required. That kind of reasoning makes me wretch. It’s cowardice at its finest, yellow turned tail, sacrifice your people for profit and lack of a spine. Which brings up a thought. I hate to personally play partisan politics but had my Republican Senate sought to impeach ‘that man in office’ perhaps we could actually make America great again.

My brother also inspired my decision to write this and take a stand regarding my own freedom by sending me a short clip from New Zealand about the Sikh community feeding those in need. It’s a basic tenet of the Sikh faith; community and to share with others. Even in the face of racism, abuse, marginalization either by race, sex, gender… Those are still the beliefs that matter. The freedoms of your families and those of the collective are joined. Without them, you truly have a poverty of spirit and country.

What people really mean when protesting with weapons in State Capitols is not ‘let’s make a deal’. What they mean is their freedom matters more than mine or my family even as I seek to reach across the aisle in an effort of unity. That my life, liberties and rights are secondary as a citizen of the United States.

I choose resistance. I choose to have a voice at all costs. I choose to be that woman in Oregon that no one knows who you are free to dehumanize but I will fight you with my every breath. I’ve been ‘that woman from Michigan’ all my life and will continue to wear that badge with honor.

I hope this finds you well. Today, I really don’t feel like I want to be in it with some parts of America but as my parents always taught me, reach across the aisle for some common ground. I believe that our children’s lives depend on it. I presently am wallowing in my cynicism, but my eternal optimist never dies.

======================================

Go forth break Bread: It’s been a shitty week and several years of suck-it-up-buttercup left to go. Woohoo!! Eat this Mexican inspired sandwich. You can substitute anything. I advise keeping the refried beans, avocado and cream cheese in lieu of sour cream. It will work with shredded chicken. Being lazy my marinade and sauce was as simple mix of garlic, salsa, bbq sauce, hot sauce, and salt n’ pepa.

--

--