Why Casual Sex Usually Leaves Us Feeling Empty

Casual Sex Can Include the Greatest of Joys and the Harshest of Sorrows

Joe Duncan
Moments
Published in
5 min readJul 26, 2019

--

There are some downsides to casual sex. I’ve experienced them personally and at the time, I couldn’t quite put my finger on what exactly about it made me uncomfortable. I thought, and thought, and thought, and I tried and tried, but alas, I only came up with a few halfway complete theories about what bothered me about it when I was actually living the single life. It even made me completely depressed, at times, when I would engage in casual sex.

It took some time, but I finally theorized what I had been actually living for so long, often leaving my encounters with women feeling unfulfilled, even depressed or saddened by my plight of just-having-gotten-laid. Huh. Be careful what you wish for? I think so.

It should be noted here, that I’m 100% supportive of casual sex. I just don’t think we should send ourselves into some emotional purgatory or the depths of total despair in doing it. Perhaps there’s a reason why free sex can hurt.

What I’ve finally come to understand reeks of Nietzchean values and Sartrean artificial hierarchy structures, which is basically another way of saying it’s all in what we value. When we practice casual sex, we become who we have sex with. It

--

--

Joe Duncan
Moments

I’ve worked in politics for fourteen years and counting. Editor for Sexography: Medium.com/Sexography | The Science of Sex: http://thescienceofsex.substack.com