WAKE UP AND WRITE

If You’ve Done It Before, You Can Do It Again

The words will come, just be patient with yourself

The Editors
Moms Don’t Have Time to Write

--

Wake Up and Write is a regular advice column from Moms Don’t Have Time to Write. Today, we have Isabel Wilkerson — author of the instant New York Times Best Seller Caste — who shared writing advice on the podcast Moms Don’t Have Time to Read Books, hosted by Zibby Owens.

“The mind works in mysterious ways. If you have an idea, write it down right away.”

“There are many people who say: write every single day. That is true. It's probably a great idea. I, however, actually do better when I am writing because I feel as if I am bursting with something that has to be on the page, where I cannot stop myself from having to write it. During those moments, I am most productive.

When you have to write and you're on deadline, of course you write. But for me, the most inspiring and effective writing comes from when I feel a sense of urgency, when I need to write something down right this second. I just have to write this down before I lose it.

One suggestion I would have is to always have pen and paper handy. If something hits you, write it down. Do not assume that it will be there tomorrow or next week or next month. The mind works in mysterious ways. You need to capture it while you can.

Also, be kind to yourself when things aren’t coming as you wish.

Know that if you’ve done it before, you can do it again. It will come. Be patient with yourself.

And remember, when you’re working on something, your subconscious is working all the time too. Our subconscious is constantly trying to make sense of what we’re working on because it knows it has a job to do. It knows that it needs to get this thing written. It absolutely knows it. It’s working on it, whether we realize it or not, whether or not we are in front of the screen.

Then, when the story reveals itself to us, when we sit down to write, then it can all pour forth.

That’s how I work. That’s what works for me.

Episode link:

Buy the book:

--

--

The Editors
Moms Don’t Have Time to Write

News, interviews, advice, and commentary curated by the editors of Moms Don’t Have Time to Write.