Dark Places of the Soul

Julie Daniel Davis
Mom’s Mumblings
Published in
2 min readDec 15, 2022

I saw the below post by Connie Guinn and I can’t get my mind off the thought of “forgotten spaces of our soul.” We all have them- Things that are too painful to think about, too hard to deal with, too tiring to spend time on. These forgotten places aren’t really forgotten though, try as we may…they are places that have been shaping us in ways we sometimes don’t even realize. We’ve pushed those thoughts way back in the back, stuffing them in a closet we rarely use, trying to forget them.

But these forgotten spaces aren’t really forgotten, they are just ignored. God calls us to turn the light on them and allow him to help us deal with them. He knows the baggage you’re ”hiding” and he knows the things you are refusing to give over to him. He longs to help you make your soul tidy. He longs to give you a soul that mirrors the heart of Jesus. He longs to allow you to unburden on him.

This morning as I have thought about this post, I can’t help but wonder what areas have I turned off the light and not dealt with. What areas does God’s light need to shine on my darkness? Darkness and light cannot abide in the same space. God, show me the areas I need to deal with. Give me the courage to crack open the door to the ugly places, the hurt places, the scary places. Help me to embrace Matthew 4:16 for its truth “the people living in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned.” I do not want to live in the shadow of death but fully in your radiant, life-giving, soul-searching light that is a lamp for my feet, and light for my path! (Psalm 119:105)

Like

Comment

Share

--

--

Julie Daniel Davis
Mom’s Mumblings

I write my thoughts in order to deal with them fully. From education topics to spiritual growth...and who knows what's next?