Perspectives

Julie Daniel Davis
Mom’s Mumblings
Published in
3 min readJan 6, 2023

Perspective. Sometimes our perspective can be flawed and we don’t even realize it. It took me a bit to realize that my eyesight was changing from having cataracts. One of the things I did notice was my depth perception was changing. I couldn’t judge how deep a step down was and when parking my car, all of a sudden I was parking wonkey in the parking space. Unlike my torn retina, the changes with the cataracts have been gradual- so gradual it was hard for me to realize. And yet the depth perception thing had me feeling “off” and like I was aging way faster than I should be. It’s stopped me from hiking. When having Christmas with the kids, I didn’t participate in the Reddi-Whip challenge because I knew there was no way I could accomplish it. I slowly changed because my perspective was slowly changing.

It’s made me wonder how often I’ve maybe allowed non-physical things to change my perspective without me being aware I was changing. How often has a change in perspective given me a biased view or caused me not to participate in something that would be a joy? How often has a perspective view change been good for me but it’s happened so slowly I’m not even aware?

Sometimes I realize there have been shifts in my thinking, but sometimes I don’t. It’s easier to see in others, I think. Someone goes through something and you see their attitude towards life change. As I thought on the slow perspective change I’ve been experiencing, it reminded me of Matthew 7:3, “Why do you look at the splinter in your brother’s eye but don’t notice the beam of wood in your own eye?” A flawed perspective can often cause judgmental behavior. I don’t want to be that person…ever.

God, I pray you would align my perspective to your will. Give me eyes to see your perfect will for me. Don’t allow fear, biases, or change to prevent me from living a fully joyful life abiding in you. Thank you for the gift of surgery in the future for these physical cataracts. Help me to be aware of any emotional or spiritual cataracts clouding my perspective in a negative way. Thank you for using my circumstances to show me a bigger picture of who I am and who you are. Amen. #Momsmumblings

Perspective. Sometimes our perspective can be flawed and we don’t even realize it. It took me a bit to realize that my eyesight was changing from having cataracts. One of the things I did notice was my depth perception was changing. I couldn’t judge how deep a step down was and when parking my car, all of a sudden I was parking wonkey in the parking space. Unlike my torn retina, the changes with the cataracts have been gradual- so gradual it was hard for me to realize. And yet the depth perception thing had me feeling “off” and like I was aging way faster than I should be. It’s stopped me from hiking. When having Christmas with the kids, I didn’t participate in the Reddi Whip challenge because I knew there was no way I could accomplish it. I slowly changed because my perspective was slowly changing.

It’s made me wonder how often I’ve maybe allowed non-physical things to change my perspective without me being aware I was changing. How often has a change in perspective given me a biased view or caused me not to participate in something that would be a joy? How often has a perspective view change been good for me but it’s happened so slowly I’m not even aware?

Sometimes I realize there have been shifts in my thinking, but sometimes I don’t. It’s easier to see in others, I think. Someone goes through something and you see their attitude towards life change. As I thought on the slow perspective change I’ve been experiencing, it reminded me of Matthew 7:3, “Why do you look at the splinter in your brother’s eye but don’t notice the beam of wood in your own eye?” A flawed perspective can often cause judgmental behavior. I don’t want to be that person…ever.

God, I pray you would align my perspective to your will. Give me eyes to see your perfect will for me. Don’t allow fear, biases, or change to prevent me from living a fully joyful life abiding in you. Thank you for the gift of surgery in the future for these physical cataracts. Help me to be aware of any emotional or spiritual cataracts clouding my perspective in a negative way. Thank you for using my circumstances to show me a bigger picture of who I am and who you are. Amen. #Momsmumblings

--

--

Julie Daniel Davis
Mom’s Mumblings

I write my thoughts in order to deal with them fully. From education topics to spiritual growth...and who knows what's next?