Julie Daniel Davis
Mom’s Mumblings
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

Saw this tweet today and it is so me. I have a good friend who tells me I sell myself short professionally. I do have a varied skill set when it comes to educational technology — partially because I worked in a small district where everyone knows everything in order to come alongside and help. Partially because edtech is more than a job to me, it’s also a hobby. While I’m starting to learn to peruse Pinterest, I’m just as happy scrolling LinkedIn and Twitter to learn more about the intersection of education and technology. I’ve said this out loud before and actually have seen people shake their heads with pity. Judge on, judger!

I suffer from imposter syndrome because I can always find someone that knows more or different information on an edtech topic than I do. Being a perfectionist, it’s hard for me to feel like I’m worthy of sharing what I know. Because others often know more. Yet, I know my friend is probably right because I love love love chatting about educational topics with friends, so I often find I do know an overabundance of educational facts (both important and pointless). I also believe iron sharpens iron. You’ll find me questioning smart people but that also shows me what I don’t know. This can become a vicious cycle for someone like me.

But today, after being sucker punched by this tweet, I’m finally going to do a blog post (or maybe even a series of posts) on the thoughts I’ve been gathering and ruminating on about educational disrupters like ChatGPT and other AI tools. Not because I think I know everything, but because a) blogging helps me solidify what I do know and believe and b) I hope it brings some valuable conversations back to me.

And FYI, while I’m focusing on the value of this tweet professionally, there is even greater value to me personally. This morning, I’m standing firm in the fact that I am a beloved child of the king! I am worthy through the shed blood of Jesus Christ. I have the Holy Spirit to lead my self-talk if I will listen. And I am a work in progress- always.

--

--

Julie Daniel Davis
Mom’s Mumblings

I write my thoughts in order to deal with them fully. From education topics to spiritual growth...and who knows what's next?