One Simple and Easy Way to Take Control Back Over Your Mind and Start Building Confidence.

Be more intentional with your time and put your smartphone away so you can have some boring time.

Olivia M. 🤎
Mom’s Self-Esteem
3 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

Our smartphones completely stole our attentions, thoughts and frankly our minds and bodies as well and I feel like for a very long time I didn’t think for myself which is very uncomfortable to admit.

There are so many perks to those smartphones and social media. However, we need to address the fact that they have caused many people to lose confidence in themselves without even realizing it. I will speak for myself throughout this article and I would really love to know your opinion on this.

This is my theory on why I lost confidence in myself and this is how I have slowly been building it back up.

Until I became a mother a couple of years ago, I was never bored so I’ve never really been alone with my own thoughts. I would listen to music under the shower, while cooking, driving, or even walking and I always had a show on Netlfix to binge on. I never completely stopped and gave myself time to think, be creative and come up with my own ideas. Even if I wanted to do it, it’d be so awkward and uncomfortable.

Now that I am a mother, I value my time so much more hence I became more intentional with it. Whether I get an hour by myself or 5 minutes, I won’t spend it on my phone anymore. Some parents might relate to the fact that we are so overstimulated that the simple idea of staring at a blank wall in silence for 15 minutes is arousing.

For the past couple of months, I have been training my mind to think and create again. I pushed my boundaries through so many activities like reading, learning Polish, doing some cardio, meditating, writing, drawing, creating online content, etc. Most importantly, I created a system/schedule in which I don’t leave any room for me to use social media while I am bored.

Additionally, being intentional with my time has completely changed my perspective on the use of social media. One can either be a regular consumer and spend their entire day scrolling through people’s lives and things they don’t even understand or they can become a mindful consumer who only uses their phone with a purpose. An example of a mindful consumer would be someone who has a project and goes online for inspiration.

Lastly, I want to speak to people who love spontaneity and despise structure or planning. I was just like you two years ago and frankly, looking back at my life, the lack of structure caused me to lose so much time. If that’s you then I invite you to be a bit more open minded and see routines as a system that helps you make small progress towards your dreams. If you are intentional, meaning that you block some time on your calendar to do something you love, then you are less likely to wonder around and scroll through Instagram or Tiktok.

I really hope that if you are reading this and feel like you have trouble focusing or achieving things in your life, you will reconsider the use of your smartphone and try getting in tune with yourself. If you never put your thoughts and ideas out there, you will miss opportunities to build real and true confidence.

I turn my ideas into stickers. If you like them, visit my Etsy shop.

--

--

Olivia M. 🤎
Mom’s Self-Esteem

I use my voice to serve and empower mothers who value being at home with their kids while earning an income doing the things that they love the most.