3 stars

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
2 min readNov 30, 2016

I love playing games. Always have! Earlier on my computer, then on my laptop and now on my mobile phone. Simple games, complex games- where you can judge your performance based on the number of stars you achieve at the end. I can enjoy a variety of games but I have only one condition- I must get ALL 3 stars.

However, I wasn’t aware that this was a condition for me till my partner pointed it out a few times. And this highlighted the importance of achieving three stars in my life.

This was also around the same time I was trying out various habit building methods from the internet. I wanted to wake up earlier, brush my teeth at night, improve my vocabulary. There was a lot to be achieved. But all the habits seemed too slow or ineffective. 21 days to learn one new habit? I wanted to learn 30 new ones.

So I devised my own method on 6th April. I listed down the tasks I wanted to achieve in a day and I attached a score to each task. Eg: Learning 3 new words would get me 3 points. Removing my make up before sleeping would get me 2 points.

Each morning I would review the previous day’s tasks and score. Every 10 points were worth one star. And if I scored 30 or more out of a possible 53, I had my 3 stars.

And 3 stars make me very happy!

From April I have adjusted and update the tasks and the score to ensure that the system remains effective and I stay on my toes. I can tell you one thing for sure that this method has worked for me because it encapsulated an idea that I know motivates me. Hope this motivates you to work out a strategy that will have positive results for you as well.

--

--