Bugging Love

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
1 min readJan 30, 2017

Given that this is the year that my partner and I plan to get married, I feel lucky to have read this article. Mark Manson talks about his crowd sourced research on successful relationships. It is long but I implore you all to read it.

His article has inspired me to share an important learning from my relationship with my partner.

This year will see 6 years of togetherness for our relationship. Loving each other has definitely been a highlight of our journey. But there have been times when things aren’t very rosy.

When newly in love, we fail to see that there is a future where you may not feel intense love for your partner. It maybe because of things happening in your own life or something that your partner has done or is going through. It is also true that such days pass and you again feel a strong wave of love for each other.

Knowing that everyday of a relationship is not going to be glamorous is important. It helps you set realistic expectations from it. You also realize that as time passes both you and your partner will evolve. We are very different people now than we were 6 years ago and so is our relationship.

And even with all the changes, we choose to share our lives with each other.

--

--