Execution trumps Ideas

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
1 min readDec 2, 2016

The undisputed fact I know about myself is that I am a procrastinator.

I will sit on great ideas till either I stop liking it or someone else adopts it. However, once I start something I am quite diligent about it.

I have been fortunate enough to spend the last 12 days with my parents. They are people who get things done. And this time I was able to understand how they do it.

The gap between the conception of an idea and it’s execution is minimum. Once convinced of an idea, they get the ball rolling. Once the ball is in motion, they may tweak the idea a bit to suit their needs. But they get it started quickly.

When I conceived the idea of these musings, I immediately sent out an email to some of you asking if you would be interested in this. And as soon as it got sent, I was bound by my own action. I couldn’t default- I have too much shame.

Had I given myself more time before I sent out that e-mail on 9th December 2015, I may have come up with a better name or format. But there is a high chance that these musings would never exist.

I recently read Anything you want by Derek Sivers (Highly recommended)​. Here is an analysis he makes that supports today’s musing.​

--

--