Hell Yes! or No

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
2 min readJul 1, 2019

Over the last few years, I have put in intentional effort in growing as a person. I have read a lot, met a lot of people, listened to many podcasts (this is a new addition), introspected, asked for feedback & worked on it, shared my life openly and taken up many different kinds of projects- both personally and professionally.

Most of these activities have helped me with my goal of becoming a better version of myself. However, there have definitely been times when I have found myself stuck at an event, meeting or activity- not enjoying, not learning. These activities have also come in the way of doing the other things that I know would have brought me immense joy.

In retrospect, I have realised that the situations I have enjoyed less are also the ones I have been unsure about. Things which I didn’t want to jump at but convinced myself to do them anyway out of obligation to self or others.

Realising that my time is only a limited resource, I have recently turned to Derek Siver’s ‘Hell Yes!’ or ‘No’policy when deciding whether I am going to do something or not. If I don’t jump with excitement at the idea of going somewhere or doing something, I am not going to do it.

If a book only mildly interests me, I am not going to read it.

If I only like the top a little, I am not going to buy it.

If I think a project will bring in money but I am not excited about it, I am not going to take it up.

If its not a Hell Yes! it’s going to have to be a No.

--

--