I am here right now

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
1 min readDec 3, 2018

Yesterday I overheard someone’s response to their friend when asked about his plans for the day. The friend who was asked the question replied calmly: ‘I am here right now’

This reply resonated a lot with me. It also gave me a topic for today’s musing. Using such simple words, it said so much.

It spoke of being fully present in the current moment without any anticipation of the future- something that I have been striving to achieve through mindfulness and meditation.

But it also spoke of something else- it spoke of the dimension of space.

At any given point, you are where you are. How you got here- whether through a series of victories or due to multiple bad decisions or due to circumstances over which you had no control- doesn’t matter.

There is no point dwelling on past wins or losses. Even though it seems otherwise, your yesterday has only a minuscule impact on your tomorrow. And only when you treat it as such can you truly be free of your past. The only thing that matters is remembering that you are here right now and that you have the power to create your future.

--

--