Same Situation. Different Driver

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
1 min readAug 26, 2019

I don’t drive and therefore I use Uber to get to places within the city.

I had to step out this morning for some work. Both the times I used Uber today (once from my house and once to get back home), I wasn’t able to get in touch with my allotted cab drivers. There was probably a network issue.

Below is an account of my interaction with each cab driver.

Driver 1:

-Booked cab

-Messaged house number to the driver

-Saw that he was at the gate and not moving for 5 mins at least

-Called driver, couldn’t connect, headed to the main gate

-Asked him why he hadn’t come into the building despite having the house number

-The Driver said very irritatedly that he called me once, didn’t get through and that he didn’t know or care about anything else

Driver 2:

-Booked cab

-Didn’t message or call the driver

-Saw that he was headed towards me

-The driver reached in under 2 mins

-As soon as I got in, the driver said that there was probably a network issue due to which he couldn’t connect with me

-He apologized for taking more time than he should have

Both drivers got me to my destination. But in the long-run one of them is going to have a lot more job satisfaction than the other. One of them took ownership of getting to the customer booking the cab. The other one didn’t care.

What kind of a driver do you want to be?

--

--