The art of not telling a story

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
1 min readNov 30, 2016

I have been meditating for almost 6 months now. (Over 12 months since I first began but I have done 148 sessions of 12 minutes each so far)

​Every person meditates with a different outcome in mind. When I started it was to become calm, have more peace of mind, gain wisdom and so on. Over time, however, I have reduced the idea down to a single thought- Being present in the moment.

With the current structure of life, most of us have at least 5–6 things on our mind at any given point. Add to that we are all story tellers. We go beyond the thing that is on our mind presently. We start thinking of related incidents, of stories from the past or of what may have been. A sunset or a hot cup of tea, sometimes ends up being a lot more than just that.

We sacrifice being present in order to live some life which can be lived better by just being here and experiencing this.

P​.S- I have found the app ‘Headspace’ the most useful for meditating as I prefer guided meditation. They have a free trial for 10 days that you can try out if you want to meditate and do not know where to begin.

--

--