The Office Bag

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
1 min readJan 20, 2020

Most of us have an office bag or the one bag that we use on most days. It is the bag that you grab on your way to work or for chores fully confident that the bag has your basic needs covered- sunglasses, keys, wallet, lip balms, sanitizer, cheque book, random business cards, collection slips, etc.

Every once a while I like to go through this bag of mine and sort things out. (And once in a longer while, I like to try out a new bag and new systems too)

Why? Because I like to be organized. But also to know what’s hiding unnoticed in the corners or in small pockets, what work am I having to duplicate just because this bag has become a mess, to understand what appointments and opportunities are being missed out on, to remind me of forgotten tasks, to find notes of randomly scribbled ideas that I now have the time to work on.

And you know what- you can do this exercise with many more things than just your office bag- physical places like your cupboard, your bookshelf, your desk drawer but also your job, your views, your relationships, your subscriptions, your photos, etc.

Every time I do this exercise-whether it is with my office bag or with other aspects of my life- I feel great. I hope that you try it out and reap its benefits as well.

--

--