What a magical world!

Chetna Parekh
Monday Morning Musings
2 min readNov 9, 2020

Below are a few of the many Harry Potter spells (along with their uses). I am going for another big Harry Potter analogy today because I know a lot of our readers love Harry Potter.

- Accio (summoning charm)

- Lumos (ignites the tip of your wand)

- Alohomora (unlocking spell for doors)

- Priori Incantatem (the reverse spell effect)

- Sonorus (magnifies the volume of your voice)

- Expecto Patronum (defensive charm against all that is evil)

When I was a child reading, watching, and playing Harry Potter games, I used to be so enchanted by these charms and spells. I have more than once looked at something that I want and squinted my eyes and said Accio- my logic is if I do it properly one day that bottle of water will come flying at me, no?

Below are some real-life technolgies that are available to us today:

- Online Concierge like Dunzo or Swiggy Genie or whatever app you use. Basically you press a few buttons and something magically appears in your house | Spell- Accio

- The torch on your phone or Smart LED lights that you can control from an app on your phone | Spell- Lumos

- Automatic sensor doors that open just as you reach them | Spell- Alomohora

- The option to check your history on your web browser and delete it | Spell- Priori Incantatem

- Microphones + Loud Speakers | Spell- Sonorus

- Meditation | Spell- Expecto Patronum?

There are many more comparisons one can draw between real-life technologies and magical spells. Isn’t a boomerang on Instagram very similar to the famous moving photos from the Harry Potter Universe?

So I’ll say it again- What a magical world!

--

--