What it takes to Learn: Observations from Teaching

J.L. Taylor
Monday/Tuesday
Published in
3 min readFeb 17, 2023
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

Until recently, I had been teaching English for the past 10+ years. Being a teacher taught me a lot about learning, and I bring these observations with me to face new challenges and adapt to changing times. In discussions with my students and through careful observation of their learning practices as well as my own, I can offer these insights on how to learn a new skill, whether it be a language or something else.

1. “I am just not a language (or math or computer) person.”

I am guilty of using this phrase in various moments of my life. I think back to how often I uttered these words in school, falling into the trap of thinking that humans are somehow divided at birth into people who are destined to be good at some things but bad at others. This is not true. If you are struggling with learning any skill, then the problem is not “you,” but your approach to the learning process. The other points in this list will touch upon this idea.

2. Learning is like Thomas Edison said: “1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.”

Edison was referring to genius, but the ingredients are the same. It takes a lot of work and time to learn something new. This is extra work outside of the classroom, practicing skills on your own, and working things out before asking for help. While someone’s background or experience may make it easier for them compared to others, time and resources will still be required.

3. Learn through your interests.

This is something I stressed to my students learning English and used myself to practice Russian and maintain my fluency. If you are not interested in basketball, for example, do not read or watch anything about basketball to learn a language. Read about politics, if you like it, or health or whatever interests you. If you want to learn to code, do it by developing something connected to your interests. If you like video games create a game. If you like finances, make a simple budgeting app. By learning through your interests, you will make learning feel less like a chore and more fun.

4. Easy, hard, easy, hard…

To use video games as an example, the more skills you gain, the harder the game usually becomes. Learning is the same. It will be difficult at the beginning, but then you will master the basics and feel confident. After that, the next level begins and you will face challenges once again. This cycle will continue until you have reached the level of master. There are always going to be ups and downs and that is okay.

5. Why are you learning this?

There are two related points here. The first is to clearly define your learning goals. This will give you motivation and will also give you a tangible way to check off when you have reached a goal. Likewise, once you have a goal, think about how much of a particular skill you need. In terms of learning a language, there are four skills to master: speaking, writing, reading, and listening. Do you need all four skills to achieve your goal? If you need a language for gathering information, then you do not need to worry about speaking. If you need to shop and ask questions in a language, then you may not need to write like a pro. Focus your energy and studies on what you need and do not judge yourself too harshly or compare yourself to others — each of us has our goals and reasons.

6. Lifelong learning

I can read, speak, and write fluently in Russian. Have I stopped formally studying the language with a teacher and textbook? Yes. Have I completely stopped learning the language? No! I am still learning because language changes with the times. I encounter new words almost daily as new technologies and ideas appear. Almost any skill that humans perform today is the same. You can learn it, but you will need to be open to learning new techniques and technologies to stay up-to-date. This point does not contradict #5. Set a clear goal for why you are learning a skill, but do not think that once you reach that goal you are done.

If you are learning something new or thinking about starting, keep these points in mind and get to work!

--

--

J.L. Taylor
Monday/Tuesday

Exploring myself through writing and inviting others to join me. Also fluent in Russian, an enjoyer of films, and a novice baker.