Time DOES NOT heal

Kedar Nimkar
Mondo
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2020

I was conditioned with this age old saying “Time heals everything”. Recently I started questioning this norm due to various events in my life.

Since I am not a researcher or a psychologist, I don’t have white papers or thesis to back the following. It is purely an argument based on experience.

Time doesn’t heal. Conversations heal. Communication heals. Dialogue heals. If at all “time heals” is true, I would say it is by self talk (as per Albert Ellis).

We, humans have a complex mind. There could be countless memories of past which can trigger emotions. (e.g. given by Helen Fisher) If you latch on to a conflict of the past and move on — you are most likely to suppress it or try alternatives to deal with that suppression. Letting go is not an easy job. Eventually you move on because you are knowingly or unknowing doing the self talk. If the goal is to move on, then this approach may work. But if the goal is to resolve conflicts then conversation is the way.

Does that make sense?

--

--