“Financial Advisors” Are Stealing Your Money

It’s time to examine what these guys are really up to

Jordan Fraser
Money Clip

--

Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

There are very few days in which I’m not asked money questions by at least one of my friends.
And while I have studied financial planning in the past (entirely online, not at all “Ivy League” shall we say), all of my real advice comes from experience and mistakes made.

This means that none of my advice is true advice from a legal standpoint, and that anyone listening to me shouldn’t choose me over a fiduciary that is licensed and legitimate.

But where do you find one of those? How do you know when to trust them? How much is a fair amount to pay?

These are all hard to answer, because there are a lot more self-serving sales people than there are genuine financial advisors.

Many out there are even less qualified than me, with less experience and dubious motives. These people exist because there’s a lot of demand for advice, and a lot of financial products that need to be sold.

Since the dawn of currency there have been salespeople, because there’s been things to sell.
It’s tough for most people to imagine financial products being a product that needs to be sold, but it is. Companies will do whatever it takes to sell these…

--

--