I May Have Found the Key to Advertising with Amazon

Either that or I’m chasing my tail again

Jordan Fraser
Money Clip

--

Photo by Cristian Castillo on Unsplash

It’s been four days since I published my latest attempt at a successful self-published book, and sales have completely halted.

The complete loss of momentum feels strange, mostly because I don’t know where it came from in the first place. I didn’t tell a soul when I launched the book, having done so entirely out of spite. So it could only ever have been a pleasant surprise when I sold three copies on the first day.

Three copies on day one felt like a roaring success to me and could mean nothing other than that this book was destined for greatness. I’ve released books that barely scraped ten copies sold for the entire length of their run, so to be off to such a great start was very exciting.

The following day I sold one more copy, which still kept me quite excited, it wasn’t nothing after all. But since that sale on day two, crickets.

Ugh

The strange thing is that I’ve been running an Amazon ad campaign since roughly an hour after the book launched, but it hasn’t resulted in more than a few clicks. I had hundreds of impressions, but no-one felt compelled to check it out.

--

--