Why I’ve Returned to KDP

Re-igniting the old dream of self-published success

Jordan Fraser
Money Clip

--

Photo by Josh Campbell on Unsplash

When it comes to my ambitions as a writer, succeeding with Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing service (KDP) has always been a major goal.

Where most writers dream of traditional publication, I’ve only ever dreamed of self-publication success (a rare and difficult feat to achieve).

Immediately upon reading that, I assume you rolled your eyes and put me into the category where many fit. The category of people who spit at the literary elite. Those who have rejected the gatekeepers and declared their independence proudly from the mountaintop.

For me, my feelings are nowhere near that justified or well thought out. I haven’t been spurned by gatekeepers nor felt the sting of reputable publishers rejecting or outright ignoring my manuscript. I’d be proud of myself for even producing a rejection-worthy manuscript that is even publication length.

Not Cut Out for It

Even though I’ve published hundreds of thousands of words on Medium, I can’t commit a fraction of that to writing a novel. For me, it’s almost impossible to stay focused on one story for more than a few days.

But regardless of my lack of focus, KDP has remained my dream for years. I love the freedom of…

--

--