Invisible illness and being self-employed

Kelly Robinson
Money Mental Life
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2022
Pixabay

Do you have an invisible illness, and you are also self-employed?

Table of contents

· The benefits of being self-employed are many
· What is an invisible illness?
· Why does self-employment work
· For me

The benefits of being self-employed are many

Including:

  • you are in the driver's seat
  • your daily activities are about your passion
  • you can choose who you work with
  • you can choose who you don’t work with
  • you decide how much or how little you work.

If like many others, you suffer from an invisible illness, you can rest when you need to or work through it when you need to.

What is an invisible illness?

An invisible illness comes in many forms; it is simply an illness that is not visible. Unlike a condition where people can see you have something making you unwell or causing you not to have excellent mobility.

Rember this when you are looking at someone in an accessible parking spot. They may have an illness that you cannot see.

Just some invisible illnesses:

  • migraine
  • mental health — depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, personality disorder and many more…
  • fibromyalgia
  • arthritis
  • cancer
  • chronic fatigue
  • digestive issues — colitis, celiac, IBS and more…
  • allergies and food intolerances
  • heart conditions
  • endometriosis
  • lupus
  • and the list goes on and on…

Why does self-employment work

If you can build a business working for yourself, you can keep this business running around your illness.

If your business has the potential to be run from home, this can make it even more flexible and work with your illness.

You have the flexibility to reschedule meetings or deadlines to suit your wellbeing.

You don’t have a boss to explain yourself to if you start late, finish early or need to take a day off.

For me

Migraines are my invisible illness.

The vast majority of the time, I can work through or get the bare minimum done while experiencing a migraine, and I believe my tolerance for the pain is much higher than most. However, everyone's experience of pain is also different; there is no way to tell if your experience is the same as another person's.

Some migraine sufferers are not able to work through a migraine. I probably shouldn’t work, but I am from a generation of continuing to work unless your limbs are all falling off and you are bleeding to death on the floor.

Do you have an invisible illness?

I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

Write for my publication https://medium.com/money-mental-life

Join Medium for unlimited reading or to earn money writing for just $5 per month.

If you enjoy reading my content, consider subscribing to my feed or becoming a paid Medium member. It is just $5 per month.

And if you are a coffee lover, why not, shout me one too.

Thanks, Kelly

PS: Did you know if you read this article, you can clap up to 50 times :)

--

--

Kelly Robinson
Money Mental Life

Top Writer. I am passionate about small business, mental health, and much more. I hope you enjoy what I have to share.