The author I cannot get enough of

Kelly Robinson
Money Mental Life
Published in
4 min readAug 16, 2022
https://www.fredrikbackmanbooks.com/

While I am probably late to the party, I guess it is better later than never.

I am talking about Fredrik Backman (image above)

This year for the first time in my life, I have made a conscious and concerted effort to read. I have always struggled until I found Kindle.

Finally, I figured out that I really dislike holding a book. Sorry, I know that many people are the complete opposite.

Consider becoming a paid Medium member. It is just $5 per month.

About Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, Britt-Marie Was Here, Beartown, Us Against You, and Anxious People, as well as two novellas and one work of nonfiction. His books are published in more than forty countries. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children. Connect with him on Facebook and Twitter @BackmanLand or on Instagram @BackmanSK.

https://www.fredrikbackmanbooks.com/

The first of his books that I read

A man called Ove

I really struggled to put this one down. So beautifully written and so relatable, you could easily visualise Ove, his neighbourhood and his life. I have been telling everyone I know to READ THIS BOOK.

Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbour from hell.” But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time?

Fredrik Backman’s novel about the angry old man next door is a thoughtful exploration of the profound impact one life has on countless others.

Next and another difficult one to put down

Anxious People

Fredrick makes his books so easy to read. As a new reader, you will find it incredibly easy to take in every word. Or, as an established reader, you will easily absorb these books.

A poignant comedy about a crime that never took place, a would-be bank robber who disappears into thin air, and eight extremely anxious strangers who find they have more in common than they ever imagined.

Viewing an apartment normally doesn’t turn into a life-or-death situation, but this particular open house becomes just that when a failed bank robber bursts in and takes everyone in the apartment hostage. As the pressure mounts, the eight strangers slowly begin opening up to one another and reveal long-hidden truths.

To read next

Brit-Marie was here

Britt-Marie is an acquired taste. It’s not that she’s judgmental, or fussy, or difficult — she just expects things to be done a certain way. She has maintained a perfectly organized life in Stockholm, Sweden, with her husband, Kent, for forty years. But when Britt-Marie discovers that Kent has been unfaithful and her perfectly organized life suddenly becomes perfectly disorganized, she does something bold: she leaves.

Bear town

A dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream — and the price required to make it come true.

People say Beartown is finished. A tiny community nestled deep in the forest, it is slowly losing ground to the ever-encroaching trees. But down by the lake stands an old ice rink, built generations ago by the working men who founded this town. And in that ice rink is the reason people in Beartown believe tomorrow will be better than today. Their junior ice hockey team is about to compete in the national semi-finals, and they actually have a shot at winning. All the hopes and dreams of this place now rest on the shoulders of a handful of teenage boys.

A follow-on from Bear town — The Winners, due to release in October 2022.

https://www.fredrikbackmanbooks.com/

Have you read any of these books? Which are your favourites?

If you enjoy reading my content, consider subscribing to my feed or becoming a paid Medium member. It is just $5 per month.

And if you are a coffee lover, why not, shout me one too.

Thank you in advance for the claps and comments; I appreciate every one of them.

Kelly

PS: There are referral links in the article that I may earn a small commission from.

--

--

Kelly Robinson
Money Mental Life

Top Writer. I am passionate about small business, mental health, and much more. I hope you enjoy what I have to share.