How to Invest $50 Million

Or any other preposterous amount

Matthew Kent
Money: The Simple Way

--

Money vector created by pch.vector — www.freepik.com

I remember once reading a post on The Simple Dollar where a reader sent in a question about how to invest $50 million. It wasn’t hypothetical either; this reader really had $50 million after taxes.

I knew this would be a fantastic post to write on, both because my answer is different than the one I read that day, and because it illustrates that I wouldn’t change much about my investment philosophy, even if I was sitting on a preposterous amount of money.

Here are the important things (for me) when it comes to investing a large amount:

  1. I want the strategy to be as simple and easy as possible
  2. My money needs to be safe
  3. There should be room for growth

That last point may seem superfluous. After all, with $50 million you could live off a million a year, even without the money being invested.

But letting your money grow means that you can increase your spending over time if you want to. It also gives you more money to give away, and generosity is one of the best benefits of being rich.

So here’s how I’d do it.

5% in Cryptocurrencies

--

--

Matthew Kent
Money: The Simple Way

Done settling for average. Now I have my sights set on awesome 😎 Get “The Ultimate Daily Checklist,” my free ebook on productivity: http://bit.ly/2pTziwr