The Most Important Thing You Can Do to Build Your Email List

Deja Cronley
Money on the Grow
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2018

“The money is in the list.”

The money is in the list is a very common saying in the blogging/internet marketing/content creation world.

That saying sums up just how valuable an email list can be. Studies estimate that emails convert 40 TIMES more than other avenues including ads and social media.

Why? Because you’ve had a chance to gain your reader’s trust which makes emails a powerful, powerful thing.

Collecting Subscribers

This means that collecting emails should be one of your top priorities.

Now I have taken a lot of courses and some of the most valuable have been about how to grow your email list but I feel like even those courses sometimes skip over one important point.

In order to get readers to subscribe they have to be able to find the opt-in box.

Seems fairly obvious, right?

Let me tell you- it’s not. I recently did a follow for follow for subscribers (which I do not suggest) and I subscribed to about 70 blogs. The most frustrating part was NOT BEING ABLE TO FIND OPT-IN BOXES!

Where to Put Your Opt-In Box

There are several places where you can put opt-in boxes in your posts including:

  • Hello Bar at the top of the page
  • Welcome Mat
  • Sidebar
  • Pop-Up (which I don’t suggest unless it’s Google compliant like the Milo Tree pop-up I use on Blogging Enthusiast)
  • At the end of a post
  • In the middle of a post as a content upgrade
  • In the menu

That’s SEVEN places you can place an opt-in on your page.

So I know it seems overly simplified but I really mean it when I say that the #1 thing you can do grow your email list is to have an easy to find subscriber box like the one below.

--

--