Humor

I Made This Simple (Yet Stupid) Money Mistake and Lost My Entire Life Savings In An Instant

You’ve been warned. Don’t let it happen to you, either.

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine
Published in
5 min readJul 3, 2022

--

Original Photo via Unsplash

Ever since I was a young boy, I’ve saved money. And as I got older, well into my 20s and 30s, I prided myself on my money saving habits.

When I was young, I remember my mom teaching me the fundamentals of household finance and the need to save as much money as possible.

She’d often hold up a quarter, or sometimes a dollar bill, and tell me…

“You’ll need this one day. Save it!”

Then she’d put the money in my grubby little hand, and I’d run off to store it someplace safe.

I also recall finding dirty pennies on the street as a boy, running home to show my mom in a fit of excitement, then happily tucking it away in my piggy bank. At one point, the thing was so full that I couldn’t lift it off the dresser.

That’s when my mom opened up a savings account for me. The same savings account I have today with my local bank.

But the only problem is that my entire life savings got wiped out recently.

--

--

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.