Life Lessons In Time Management

I Never Became the Next Jimi Hendrix, But I Did Learn the Secret to Mastering My Time

Here’s what practicing and playing the guitar taught me about productive time management

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine
Published in
5 min readJul 19, 2022

--

Photo by Nick Karvounis on Unsplash

A few years ago, I was trying to learn how to play the guitar.

I had a lot of grandiose ideas about being the next Jimi Hendrix or the next Carlos Santana. You know, laying down monster licks on the electric beast.

Yeah, it was a far-fetched dream. Call me crazy (if you want).

Soon after taking up the musical practice, I discovered to get good at playing the guitar, I’d have to put in plenty of time. Not just time here and there. But time every day practicing the six-string instrument.

So I started time blocking.

Every day from 6 to 8 pm, I would sit down and practice playing. I would start by warming up with some simple exercises, then move on to learning new chords or practicing my favorite songs.

And the results were incredible. Within a few months, I was playing the guitar better than I ever thought possible.

But there was one problem.

--

--

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.