Mental Health & You

These Five (Unusual) Mental Health Tips Can Help You Survive The Bear Market Unscathed

Financial freedom is nothing without a strong mental outlook

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine
Published in
5 min readJul 1, 2022

--

Made with Canva

I was ten years old and on summer vacation when my parents took me to Disneyland for the first time.

I was so excited to go on the roller coaster rides, but as soon as we stood there waiting in line, a chill coursed down my spine. I felt scared. My heart raced faster and faster as we got closer to the end of the line.

The anticipation was terrifying.

Suddenly, I didn’t want to get on the ride. But I also didn’t want to back out and seem like a coward. With a few reluctant steps, I got on anyway.

The Disney employee dropped the safety bar and gave my seat belt a good tug. She smiled and shot me a wink.

When the ride started and the passenger cars sailed down the track, my fears were confirmed. Amplified, even.

Fear transformed into moments of sheer terror.

My pounding heart felt like it was going to burst out of my tiny chest. And in my 10-year-old mind, I was certain I was going to die.

--

--

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.