“You Can’t Buy Happiness, But You Can Buy Dirt”

Here are 6 reasons Real Estate is one of the smartest investments you could ever make in your lifetime

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine

--

Original Photo via Unsplash

The last recession is how I made a small fortune.

At 29 years old, my mom dragged me out of my tiny studio apartment to look over a dozen houses. Going from one neighborhood to the next.

Since she was moving to Oklahoma soon, where she planned to live out the rest of her years, she wanted to do one last motherly act. She wanted to set me up for long-term success. And by that, I mean, she wanted me to buy a house.

That way, I could safeguard my financial future.

And guess what? Like the dutiful son I was, I bought a house. It was my first home, which I bought hot off the heels of the 2007–2009 global recession.

Then I lived in that house for over ten years. At the peak of the red-hot US residential market in March 2021, I cashed out. Making a 3x profit.

Of course, this was all in the aftermath of the last recession. I bought a house that someone else couldn’t afford. It was a bank foreclosure.

To get me in the house, the bank selling the property didn’t even require a hefty down payment…

--

--

Alex Bentley
Money vs. Machine

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.