A short recruitment parable.

Miguel Adams
Mongoose Musings
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2024

You’ve broken down.

You: After the obligatory expletive-laden rant, desperately try to remember how to open the bonnet (or rather, hood, for the benefit of our American friends).

You: Step out of the car, lift up the bonnet / hood and stare cluelessly into the mechanical abyss hoping to luck out an easy fix.

Passer-by #1: “Do you need any help? I’m a mechanic.”

You: “Hell yes please!”

PB1 gets to work.

Passer-by #2: “Everything OK? I’m not a mechanic but my brother is so I do know my way around an engine bay.”

You: Blank them. After all, you’re sorted right?

PB2 shrug their shoulders and go on their merry way.

Passer-by #3: “Would you like another pair of hands?”

You: Blank them. They’ll just get in the way.

PB3 huff, mutter something under their breath (inaudible) and hurry along. After all, they’re meeting their brother shortly. At PB3 Auto Ltd.

At this point PB1 turns to you: “So I can fix this but have just realised I can’t spare the time and need to be elsewhere, sorry.” And just like that, they’re gone in a puff of smoke. Pun intended.

The End.

MONGOOSE GRAY | Tech recruitment. By techies. For techies.™

MONGOOSE JOBS | Blissfully bijou.™

--

--

Miguel Adams
Mongoose Musings
0 Followers
Editor for

Former software engineer turned tech recruiter.